Tags

, , , ,

ImageI don’t know about you, but I have great season affinities and aversions to food. Example: I LOVE soup when it’s cool out side, whereas, I wan’t nothing to do with it when it’s hot out. I think this sort of thing is normal. I mean, who doesn’t want a big bowl of ice cold watermelon when temperatures hit 85 degrees?!

So, seeing as how we’re grasping for the last breaths of spring here in Florida, I’ve found myself struggling a bit to plan dinners each week.  Soups, stews, and hearty pasta dishes have been in the regular rotation for months. They’re delicious, packed with nutrients (when you’re makin’ the right stuff), and generally pretty cost effective, but I just have no desire to eat them when the air is thick with humid heat. I’m in quite the predicament, aren’t I? 

Fortunately, with a little toying in the kitchen, I’ve come up with at least one dish that’s easy, filling, budget friendly, and most of all, summery! It’s a medley of fresh produce, fragrant herbs, and whole grains. It’s my new Summer Pasta! And, it is delicious!

What You’ll Need: 

  • 1 lb organic whole wheat pasta. I love Hodson Mill’s penne with milled flax seed. It’s full of fiber and is a great source of Omega-3 oils!
  • 3/4 lb fresh, ripe tomatoes, chopped.
  • 1 full bunch of fresh basil,  finely chopped.
  • 1/2 cup fresh mozzarella, cubed
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, minced.
  • 2-3 Tbsp olive oil 
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

What to Do::

  1. Cook pasta according to directions on box. Drain and set aside to cool as your prep your remaining ingredients. 
  2. Slice, dice, and chop tomatoes, basil, garlic, and cheese.
  3. Mix ALL of your ingredients (except the pasta together) and let sit for about 10 minutes to allow all of the flavors to marinate. Image
  4. Top pasta with tomato mixture and voila, you’re ready to enjoy the perfect summer pasta!

Nourish and Be Nourished::