Tags

, ,

Run for Boston 4/17Last night, Bikini Bod Bootcamp met as normal. We gathered around the fountain at 6pm and began what turned out to be a pretty heinous workout. I’ve pushed the girls (and myself) in different ways each week, and this one is no exception.  Being that we’ve passed the half way mark of our 12-week journey, I decided we’d revisit some of our previous workouts in hopes of measuring some tangible progress for each of us.

And despite having not only created last night’s workout, but performed each exercise previously many times, I really struggled. The actual workout was tough, but it was a mile around the track that really got me.  Yes, I have at one time completed a half marathon, but this one, single mile was a feat for me last night.

Running anything more than a quarter mile at a time isn’t part of the normal bootcamp routine, but in honor of those affected by the bombings at this week’s Boston Marathon, we ran that mile.  It was my idea.  I even gave the girls a pep talk prior, encouraging them to listen to their bodies and run with a grateful heart.

But, when we hit the track, I felt sluggish and queasy.  What I had hoped would be a liberating run fueled by a desire to stand for those who couldn’t, turned out to be a physical and mental challenge.  I walked for a bit; something I haven’t had to do in my running life in probably 3 years.  I started to feel defeated, but then I saw the girls who had finished their mile already.  A mile that marked the longest run of some of their lives.  I saw the girls who were still running with me.  And I thought of the people who trained to run 26.2 miles on Monday and were forced to turn around and run the other way.  So, I gathered my sluggish, queasy strength and asked Hannah, one of my faithful fellow bootcampers, to finish the mile with me. I needed a buddy and she kindly obliged and when we crossed the finish line, I felt so good despite my red face and utter exhaustion.

And, when I got home, I found that I had run with a grateful heart after all.  You see, sometimes it takes a bad day to recognize how blessed we are with so many good ones.  Yes, I felt awful running around that track, but I hadn’t felt that bad on a run in 3 years.  That’s a pretty amazing track record (pun sort of intended).  It took struggling a bit to realize that my “norm” is actually something for which I should always be grateful.

And, that gratitude extends beyond exercise.

It extends into my marriage, my work, my friendships.  I have been blessed with so much GOOD in my life, that I’m even thankful for the wake up call of struggle, for gratitude is something I never want to lose.

There is a lot of hurt in the world and that hurt can’t be ignored or wished away.  But, in each of us, there lies the ability to shift the perspective of our own hurt, our own defeat, into gratitude. And, perhaps that personal gratitude can help heal just a little bit of the world’s hurt.

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.” -Philippians 4:4-9

 

Nourish and Be Nourished::