Tags

, ,

Brussel Sprouts. A food most children (and many adults) automatically shudder at the thought of eating. A food so repulsive to immature taste buds that popular culture has turned them into the penultimate dietary punishment. A food that until recently, I thought I’d never eat.

Until one magical night when my friend Paul hired the Big Wheel Mobile Food Truck to provide the food for his birthday party. Adam and I were informed of the deliciousness of his signature brussel sprouts by Paul’s children, and Adam having grown up eating brussel sprouts, we were convinced to order some. Let me tell you, that night changed my life! These things were delicious and hearty and crunchy and soft all at the same time. I couldn’t believe it! So, I journeyed on from that night thinking that so long as Big Wheel was around that I’d been keen to partake in some sprouts.

Well, fast forward to Thanksgiving. My sister and her boyfriend were staying with Adam and I and we’d be tasked by our Mom to make some side dishes for the impending feast. I went with some of our family classics, but Jen decided to roast some brussel sprouts. Much to my amazement, yet again, those things were delicious! Simply prepared, those little miniature cabbages held their own amongst a crop of my favorite foods.

However, it took me a good 4 months to work up the courage to prepare my own. I kept thinking, “What if I completely butcher this food that has taken me so long to love? What if I overcook them and they turn to mush? What if I undercook them and they’re hard as rocks?”  Really, I was just making excuses to avoid cooking a food that intimidated me.

Fast forward once again to present day: I am  happy to announce that brussel sprouts are now a staple in the Weaver home! Seriously, I’ve made them 3 times in the last 9 days, and they’re on the menu again this weekend. And, the best part? The best part is that I’ve seasoned them in a totally different way each time I’ve made them and they’re always spectacular. They’re honestly so easy to compliment flavor wise.

Below, I’ve shared one of the many ways I like to prepare them. It’s simple, fast, and fresh. So, you know the drill. Before I get to the how, I’ll share the why.

Brussel sprouts are low in fat and cholesterol and a very good source of Vitamin C and dietary fiber. This means they’ll keep you full AND regular. Win-win! So, now that you’re in the know, I leave you with one of my go-to ways to prepare brussel sprouts. I encourage you to experiment with your own flavor profiles. They’re are infinite ways to prepare these sprouts, so I’m certain you’ll find a way you love!

What You’ll Need::

  • Approximately 3/4 lb brussel sprouts for 2 servings
  • Juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • Drizzle of olive oil
  • Fresh cracked pepper
  • Coarse salt
  • OR, you can sub the salt & pepper for McCormick’s Montreal Steak Seasoning (one of my favorites!)

What to Do::

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Wash your sprouts and pat them dry
  3. Cut sprouts in half through the base
  4. Toss sprouts in a bowl with all remaining ingredients and let sit for 5-10 minutes sprout2
  5. Lightly coat a baking sheet with olive oil and place sprouts in a single layer, cut side downsprout3
  6. Bake for approximately 25-30 minutes, flipping half way through. Sprouts should be fork tender when done
  7. Serve hot and enjoy!sprout4

Nourish and Be Nourished::