Tags

, ,

COMFORT_ZONEAs you may know, this Spring I am facilitating what I’m calling a Bikini Bod Bootcamp. It’s a 12-week program that was inspired when Reagan asked me to help kick her butt in preparation for bikini season. Initially only committing to working out with Reagan twice a week for three months, this has swiftly become something so much more.  Just last night, we had 12 women join us for our bootcamp and I email these workouts to nearly 40 women each week to complete on their own. To me, there’s not much more exciting than this! I genuinely love seeing the positive impact exercise has on people.  I love the determination these women exhibit each and every week.  I love the camaraderie that has developed amongst a group of women that had never interacted with one another prior to this endeavor.

And, I love, LOVE, love the challenge that I face in coming up with workouts that are demanding, yet empowering.  I want nothing more than to uncover hidden strengths in these women, to unleash the beasts within. And, let me tell you, we definitely have some beasts on our hands. I’m consistently blown away by the physical prowess of these women, and, I think they are too. It’s a beautiful thing!

So, this week has come as a bit of a surprise to me.  You see, I came up with a workout that I thought everyone was going to fall in love with.  It incorporates some elements we haven’t yet covered.  We’ve got micro movements and strength and balance and very little cardio.  To me, that sounds like a dream! Key words here being “to me”. Much to my surprise, last night’s workout wasn’t met with the joy I thought it would  be.  Now, don’t get me wrong, the women who completed it did so with incredible resolution and I know felt pretty darn accomplished after the fact.

But, to be honest, this week’s got me thinking. It has me thinking that THIS is what it’s all about. THIS is the kind of week that is going to produce amazing results because it’s THIS kind of work that pushes us outside of our comfort zones.  We’ve spent three weeks working harder than most of us thought possible.  We’ve spent three weeks in high intensity mode, but it’s in changing things up a bit, slowing our bodies down, and focusing on strength from the deep that will truly create change.

And, not just physical change.

Stepping outside our comfort zones creates a greater sense of accomplishment.  It proves to our doubtful minds that our bodies are capable of so much more than we expect.  It allows us to see that although swift progress feels good, sometimes the biggest obstacles cannot be overcome without struggle. Stepping outside our comfort zones unearths a tenacity that would otherwise lay dormant. And, that, my friends, is certainly worth pushing the personal boundaries we have set for ourselves.

So, let this be an encouragement to embrace the struggle. Allow your mind AND body to be strengthened by it. Physical activity that is outside of our norm is exactly the kind of activity needed to avoid the plateau, to sculpt and define new muscle groups, and to, ultimately, generate greater results.

I am awed daily by the stories I hear these women tell about their bootcamp experience.  I am humbled by the dedication they exhibit. And, most of all, I am determined to help them get through the though days with as much gusto as the days that they feel like superheroes.  Because even superheroes have bad days.

Here’s to stepping outside our comfort zones!

Nourish and Be Nourished::