Tags

, , ,

Like most of my easy go-to recipes, I’m almost a little embarrassed to share this one. But, this is just too good not to share, especially for those of you who don’t crave veggies. I was actually introduced to this recipe by Reagan something like 5 or 6 years ago, back when I wasn’t the biggest fan of asparagus. My, how times have changed, and I ultimately have a version of this recipe to thank!

Just like last week, however, before I get to the “how-to,” I’d like to share the why. Like most greens, asparagus is just plain good for you.  This particular veggie contains high amounts of folate (great for you women of child-bearing age!), potassium, and antioxidants. In fact, asparagus has long be touted for it’s cleansing properties acting as both a diuretic and laxative. Fun, huh!? Not to mention that asparagus is low-calorie, filling food, making it great for anyone who is watching their weight.

Check out where asparagus measures on the Nutrition Target Map.target

Clearly, there’s something to be said for a food that measures so high on both the fullness and nutritional scales. So, without further ado, I give you my favorite version of dressed up asparagus.

What You’ll Need::

  • ½ lb fresh asparagus
  • 1 Tbsp + 1 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tsp low sodium soy sauce
  • ½ tsp sesame seedsASPARAGUS

What To Do::

  1. Wash and dry your asparagus and trim the blunt ends
  2. Place all ingredients in a medium skillet, over medium heatsaute
  3. Sauté for 10-12 minutes, stirring occasionally, until tender
  4. Serve immediately

So, there you have it! Easy peasy, right? Keep in mind that, for those of you who want to keep it simple, that asparagus is just as delicious sautéed a little bit of olive oil with salt & pepper. So, whether you dress it up or dress it down, just make sure you eat it!

Nourish and Be Nourished::