Tags

, , ,

water

Folks, today I am nursing a serious headache. And, do you know why? Well, it’s because I didn’t follow my own advice yesterday and went to bootcamp without properly hydrating. So, last night I paid the price. And today, I’m still paying the price.

But, here’s the kicker. I drank a lot of water yesterday. More than I normally would, at least. However, it just wasn’t enough for the work I put my body through with an intense workout.  Here’s the other kicker.  It wasn’t hot yesterday, so I didn’t sweat out all of the water I had consumed.  My body simply used it as fuel for all of it’s moving parts and I irresponsibly just didn’t put enough gas in to get through the workout and have enough water to spare to keep this headache at bay.

So, I’m sharing my foolishness with you in hopes that you’ll learn from my rookie mistake. And, if my pain isn’t enough to drive it home, allow me to share some facts about proper hydration with you.

According to the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), water:

    • regulates body temperature
    • transports oxygen and nutrients to our cells
    • lubricates and cushions joints
    • protects your spinal cord and other sensitive tissues
    • gets rid of waste

As you can see, water is a super important part of every part of your body. So, it’s super important to get enough of it, especially if you’re as physically active as you should be.

The American Counsel on Exercise (ACE), recommends the following guidelines for properly hydrating before, during, and after exercise:

  • Drink 17-20 ounces of water 2-3 hours before the start of exercise.
  • Drink 8 ounces of fluid 20-30 minuted prior to exercise or during your warm up.
  • Drink 7-10 ounces of fluid every 10-20 minutes during exercise.
  • Drink an additional 8 ounces of fluid within 30 minutes after exercising.
  • Drink 16-24 ounces of fluid for every pound of body weight lost after exercise.

It is important to note that although sodium helps the body rehydrate, typical sports drinks (i.e., Gatorade, Powerade) should not be relied upon as a large source of hydration as they’re full of sugar and calories. And, if you’re on a journey to change your body for the better, water should be the beverage you choose the majority of the time.  Of course, there will be times when you need an extra boost in hydration, but there are some great options out there that don’t include all the sugary, fake gunk! The naturally occurring potassium and electrolytes in Coconut Water, for instance, are a great source, in addition to fruits and vegetables, for rehydration after an intense workout.

So, take it from me (the girl who didn’t drink enough water), hydration is to not only key to maintaining a healthy body, but to transforming into a healthier one as well!

We’ll talk more about liquid calories another time, but today I want you to remember one thing: water is king!

 

Nourish and Be Nourished::