Tags

, , ,

SOUPI am not a huge fan of tomatoes. I don’t love ketchup. And I almost always give Adam the tomatoes that show up in my restaurant salads.  So, I’m just as shocked as you are that one of my favorite dishes is this roasted tomato soup. But, it’s seriously delicious. Maybe it’s the way the garlic and onions meld with the tomatoes as they roast. Maybe it’s the fact that it’s the ultimate feel good food on a cold night. Or maybe my palette is just inconsistent.

Whatever it is, I’m super grateful that I was introduced to this soup by Sprouted Kitchen and am super excited to share my version below. I like to make a BIG batch that delivers lots of yum leftovers.  Please enjoy…

What You’ll Need::

  • 3 lbs ripe, organic tomatoes
  • 1 medium yellow onion
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • Fresh ground pepper, to taste
  • 2 tsp dried parsley flakes
  • 3 cups organic chicken broth
  • 2 Tbsp organic tomato paste
  • 1/4 cup organic half & half
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon italian seasoning
  • Fresh chopped basil for garnish

What to Do::

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and wash your tomatoes tomatoes
  2. Chop tomatoes and onion into wedges and arrange on a rimmed baking sheet
  3. Gently tuck garlic cloves into the seedy flesh of the tomatoes as to avoid burning them
  4. Sprinkle onions and tomato with salt, pepper, parsley and olive oil drizzle
  5. Roast for 30-40 minutes, or until everything is soft and fragrant. Set aside.
  6. Heat chicken broth and tomato paste in a large pot over medium heat.
  7. Add entire contents of baking sheet to pot and let it all simmer together for about 10 minutestomatoes2
  8. Using an immersion blender (this thing is a life saver when it comes to making soup!), blend all of the ingredients together until fairly smooth. In my opinion, this soup is best when it’s still a little chunky. You can also carefully mix in a blender, if needed. tomatoes3
  9. Stir in cream, oregano, and Italian seasoning. addcream
  10. Garnish with fresh basil, cracked black pepper, and toasted garlic bread
  11. Enjoy!!

Nourish and Be Nourished::