Tags

, , , ,

midas

I am a golden girl. (I’m not a Golden Girl, although I do hope to have a friend named Blanche one day.) There’s no way around it. I love gold jewelry, gold shoes, gold nail polish, gold decor, gold paint. If it’s gold, chances are I’m a fan.

So, I was a bit shocked when I realized that I’ve gone 27 years of my life not knowing about liquid gold leaf. Truly, shocked. This stuff is so precious to my obsession, that it may as well be actual liquid gold. It’s not only golden, but it’s so luxurious that I just can’t get enough of it!

115469

I first purchased a $5.49 bottle of Liquid Leaf at Hobby Lobby to use for some projects I was working on for Mijanne’s bridal shower, but have since found multiple uses for it. For the purpose of today’s post, I’ll share with you my first liquid gold DIY project.

Because she is such a classy lady, we decided to throw Mijanne a sparkly cocktail party instead of a traditional bridal shower. Much to my joy, this allowed me to incorporate all sorts of golden details (more of that to come!). One such element came in the form of up-cycled candles from the dollar store. That’s right, the dollar store.  Below are instructions and photos of the finished product.

To date, this is one of my favorite DIY’s because it met the ultimate crafting trifecta: quick, cheap, and easy!

What You’ll Need::

  • Glass candle holders, or any other item you’d like to gold-ify
  • Liquid Leaf, in gold
  • Foam brush
  • Painter’s tape

photo 2

What to Do::

  1. Measure the width of the striped you’d like to paint, and tape appropriately.
  2. In a well ventilated area, use the foam brush to apply a thin coat of liquid leaf to the exposed area of your candlestick.
  3. Allow first coat to dry completely, apply second.
  4. Wait a full 24 hours for second coat of liquid leaf to dry. Remove tape.
  5. Voila!

candles

I also went a little crazy free-hand coating vases and planters to add a little golden light all around the house.

photo 3

So, the next time you want an easy project with a little glam, get yourself some liquid leaf and get crackin’!

Nourish and Be Nourished::