Tags

, , ,

Chalkboard_kind

So, I know it’s late January and I’m quite a bit tardy to be posting about goals for the coming year, but I figure better late than never. So, here I go.

Among all of the resolutions and goals that I could be setting for 2013, there is one thought that has stayed in the forefront of my mind this new year. More important than sticking to my exercise routine, more important than eating right and being more crafty, and even more important than spending more quality time with my loved ones. Yes, in 2013, I’m putting kindness at the top of my list.

I have decided that the world is far too bleak, far too broken, and far too selfish for me to ignore the pull I feel toward kindness. After all, scripture (Galatians 5:22-23) names kindness as a fruit of the Spirit, and there is no denying the fact that the Holy Spirit dwells within me. With that undeniable Spirit comes undeniable responsibility. Therefore, I have decided to choose kindness daily. And, as easy as that may sound, it has already proven difficult. I have stumbled repeatedly and haven’t even made it out of January yet. I have found myself frustrated with the people and situations around me, and worse, have given in to the temptation to snuff out kindness for being right, being heard, being validated. You name it, I’ve likely chosen it over kindness, and this frustrates me beyond belief.

So, I write this today as a public declaration, as a call for accountability, and as an act of war against all of the yuck that so easily creeps into life. I have decided to not only choose kindness daily, but to fight for it as well.

Here’s my plan: there are 342 days left in 2013. And, I’m tasking myself with seizing 2013 opportunities to be kind. When rounded up just a bit, that’s 6 times each day that I must choose kindness over frustration, pride, selfishness.  My hope is that as the year moves along, that 6 times a day will grow to 16 times a day, then 60 times a day, then so many times that I can’t even count. My hope is that kindness will be my “go-to” as opposed to my task.

So, if you struggle with kindness (as I so clearly do), I ask that you join me. Keep a journal, a blog, a growing chain of post-its noting the opportunities you claim for kindness. And, if you’re feeling like you just don’t have it in you to be kind, come back here for some inspiration. Below are some friendly reminders from the world of Pinterest.

Be  Kind by Simon Walker

be_kind

tumblr_mesycc9x8x1qkxrtro1_500

I don’t know about you, but I’m certain this is a journey that I’m going to be grateful I started, no matter how tardy.

Nourish and Be Nourished::