Tags

, , , ,

CRANBERRYSALAD

Before you going running for the hills at the mention of cranberries post-Thanksgiving, I urge you to just look at the photos below. Please?

Now, aren’t you glad you did? Just look at those beautiful colors! The rich red, the bright orange, the snowy white? That’s beauty in a bowl if you ask me. So, now that I have your attention, I kindly request that you take a look at this recipe and then tell me you’re still anit-cranberry. Deal?

Deal.

I was first introduced to this recipe last Christmas by my mother-in-law and found it only appropriate to wait until this Christmas season to make the dish myself. Let me just tell you that it was completely worth the wait! This “salad” toes the line between breakfast and dessert. It’s sweet, yet perfectly tart and includes truly healthy ingredients. It’s refreshing, yet perfectly wintry. It’s full of cranberries, yet delicious. Bottom line.

Now that you know the “why,” I’ll share the “how” so you can enjoy this delicious dish yourself!

What You’ll Need::

  • 1 bag fresh cranberries
  • 3-4 large naval oranges
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut
  • 3 handfuls of pecans
  • organic maple syrup (to sweeten, if desired)

What to Do::

  1. Chop the cranberries into small chunks using a food processor or blender. I used my VitaMix and found it helpful to chop them in batches so that they didn’t become pureed.photo 2
  2. Next, peel the oranges. Remove the pith and seeds, chop into chunks and toss in the food processor or blender. Use the same technique as you did with the cranberries to finely chop.chopped oranges
  3. Layer on top of the cranberries. photo 1
  4. Add your coconut to the oranges and cranberries.photo 2
  5. Coarsely chop the pecans and add to your mix. photo 4
  6. I’d suggest adding a tablespoon of maple syrup, unless you want to keep this uber healthy and love the tart taste. Now, mix it ALL together.cran2
  7. Chill in the fridge and enjoy at your leisure! photo 5

Nourish and Be Nourished::