Tags

, , ,

One of the most exciting aspects of being a newlywed is moving into a place with your new spouse! One of the most challenging aspects of being a newlywed is moving into a place with your new spouse! The exiting part is combining your things, merging your styles, sharing your space. The challenging part is (you guessed it!) combining your things, merging your styles, sharing your space. Somehow you end up with too tiny rooms jam-packed with stuff (think kitchen cabinets here), meanwhile there are entire walls with nothing to hang on them (think master bedroom here).  It can all get a bit overwhelming.

One such problem area in our home was a lonely corner in our sweet, little bathroom. Holding tons of potential, Adam and I totally dragged our feet on getting this area up to snuff. Weeks turned into months of us saying, “boy, a small cabinet sure would be useful and adorable in this here corner” (so, maybe Adam didn’t use those exact words, but he certainly agreed with me), until I finally gave in when we knew we had company coming to town.

Before

Realizing this was actually going to be fun, I made my way to my favorite home store HomeGoods. Talk about deals of the century! Armed with a perfect shabby chic wood and glass cabinet, I then popped into Antropologie to pick up some glass apothecary jars, and made my way home to cozy up that corner!

$80 HomeGoods find

It took no time at all to fill my find up with both necessities and niceties. Toilet Paper? Check! Miniature toiletries? Check! Fun hand towels? Check! Pretty cosmetic bag? Check! Q-tips and cotton balls? Check! Decorative soap? Check!

After!

Now, it may seem silly, but I really do think this addition to our bathroom gives the place some much-needed character!  With that, I urge you to pay some attention to that trouble spot in your home. Give it some love and watch your space be transformed.

Nourish and Be Nourished::