Tags

, , , , ,

Before you start thinking crazy thoughts, let me tell you, that I am in no way going to be giving lessons on committing sabotage. Au contraire, I want to take a few moments today to discuss the possibility that we sometimes sabotage ourselves.

Yes, there are ways in which we sabotage ourselves. But before I board that ship, let me tell you a little story.

If you recall, I love the Olympics. Seriously, I have so much respect and admiration for the athletes who exercise extreme discipline to achieve their life-long goals. I’m awestruck at the beauty with which these super humans display their feats of strength, speed, agility, flexibility, and flippability.  Not only are these athletes physically superior, but they boast traits of integrity, sportsmanship, and honor as well. Olympians are the creme de la creme and the whole world knows it.

So, what happened in London that caused eight, yes eight, OLYMPIC athletes to be EXPELLED from the 2012 games?!

Sabotage, that’s what.

Eight female badminton players from South Korea, China, and Indonesia, were thrown out of the games for clear sabotage of their sport. In an effort to be placed in easier brackets, the four teams intentionally threw early qualifying rounds. That’s right, they played poorly on purpose in order to take an easier road to the finals. Where is the honor in that? It seems to me like a direct slap in the face of all the hard work these athletes had put in to get to the games in the first place.

The entire scandal is disappointing at best, and it really got me thinking. About every day life. About those of us who aren’t olympians, but just “regular” people. We all have purpose, we all have goals, we are all working toward something. Right? I certainly believe it to be true.

“For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Ephesians 2:10

Scripture tells me that I was created to do good works. I’m told that I am God’s handiwork, with a purpose for which He has prepared me.  That’s an incredible honor, yet somehow, I find subtle ways to sabotage myself every day. I choose the easy route. I choose to pursue selfish, worldly pleasures instead of those good works God prepared me for through Jesus Christ. I choose control over surrender. Again, this is disappointing at best.

So, what are we to do? Honestly, there is no formula. There is no magical solution. There is, however, hope. There is hope that we are loved by a perfect, faithful, powerful, and unchanging God. There is hope that we were created by God with purpose and passion and gifts designed to pursue both. And, guess what, that same God loves us to no end. He is cheering for us, and continually setting our paths straight, blazing incomprehensible trails for our lives, requiring only faith from us.

Faith to believe that He is who He says He is. Faith to trust in His will for our lives. Faith that Jesus has saved us by grace.  And, perhaps, the best part of all of this, is that He loves us through the sabotage. He loves us through the selfish decisions. He loves us through the pride.

So, I urge you, take hope in God’s love, have faith in His glory and surrender each time you feel yourself turning toward sabotage. Commit yourself to olympian-like discipline in your relationship with Him. Converse with Him daily, learn his word, and allow Him to take control. You, and God’s kingdom, will be so much better for it.

Nourish and Be Nourished::