Tags

, , , , , , ,

My name is Jordan and I am addicted to color. Always have been, always will be. I drive a bright yellow car and have slept in bedrooms of bright purple, magenta, and blue in my day.  So, it should come as no surprise that I was a little concerned my color-popping habits would have to be toned down once I got married and began living with my husband.

Fortunately, Adam is not entirely opposed to color and has actually helped me find a more sophisticated way of incorporating color into our home. Above is a snapshot of our living room and below are bits I am particularly fond of in our humble abode. There are ways to use color that brighten up a room without overwhelming the senses. Please see below for evidence and advice.

  • A great place to start is: paint! Painting in the easiest, least expensive way to completely transform a room. When decorating with color in your furniture, accessories, etc., it is important to choose wall colors that are more neutral or muted. We chose two shade of gray to paint our living room and adjoining dining room. The colors compliment each other and our decor so well! The grays also help highlight the colorful elements.
  • Keep your larger items more neutral. Our sofa and coffee table are both natural tones, which allows us to accessorize with bright colors!
  • Mix and Match! Not only would I suggest mixing neutrals and brights, but also mix patterns and textures. By giving the eyes and hands a variety of stimuli, you’re able to incorporate more elements than you’d think!
  • Most importantly: go with your gut, be bold, and have fun!

Nourish and Be Nourished::