Tags

, , , , ,

Southern hospitality, how sweet it is! A phrase typically used to describe the warm and welcoming demeanor of hosts in Southern homes, this tradition can now be found all over the world. Although culturally rooted in gatherings south of the Mason-Dixon, a gracious welcome is actually biblical.

“Do not forget to show hospitality to strangers, for by doing so some people have shown hospitality to angels without knowing it” -Hebrews 13:2

Truly beautiful, isn’t it?  I certainly feel blessed to have grown up in a home where making guests feel welcomed was highly valued, and it is a tradition that lives on in me that will absolutely be instilled in my children. Heck, I even have a bachelor’s degree in Hospitality Management. That’s how serious I am!

All kidding aside, it is one of mine and Adam’s greatest desires to have the kind of home that people love to visit and gather in, whether for a short pop-in or an extended stay. So, we decided that when we have overnight guests, we want to go the extra mile to make them feel at home. In fact, it was Adam’s idea that every guest who stays at our home should get their own Anthropologie coffee mug with their initial on it. Isn’t he thoughtful?

Below are some photos I snapped before Adam’s brother and nephew came to town.

Here are the sweet aforementioned mugs. We placed them on the guest room nightstand as a welcome gift that they guys could take home with them!

I also set out a bottle of water with glasses.  Your guests won’t realize just how thoughtful this is until they’re parched in the middle of the night. No stumbling around in the dark if there’s water bedside! I also love greeting my guests with a note. I was at work when Aaron and Kent arrived, so I placed a note in their room in lieu of my presence.

Here, I set out fresh towels for our guests. Accompanied by travel sized toothpaste for each, I tried to emulate the feeling of staying in a hotel with miniature freebies!

Last, but not least, are the bathroom essentials. We all know that nature calls and nothing is more embarrassing than getting stuck in an awkward bathroom situation at someone else’s home. So, take a few preventative measures before your guests arrive. Be sure there’s a plunger readily available as well as some odor reducing supplies. I go the safe route and provide febreeze as well as matches and a candle. Oh, and don’t forget to have extra toilet paper stored IN the bathroom!

With these few simple measures, you can be the hostess with the mostess and make your guests feel right at home!