Tags

, , , ,


Let me start today by saying that I realize that it is August. We are at the height of summer heat here in Florida and I recognize that a scarf isn’t the most top-of-mind accessory for most. I agree, but something has happened where I just CAN’T get away from some amazing scarves I’ve seen in stores recently! Check out this lovely little sampling from the gap.

So cute, right!? And what about this adorable patriotic one found on Etsy?

Amazing! My sweet husband bought me this scarf before the shop sold out, and unfortunately for you, it’s no longer available. Fortunately, however, this scarf inspired me to make my own and share with you how I did it!

With a few dollars worth of fabric & some iron-on hem tape, you too can sport an adorable patriotic infinity scarf with plenty of Olympic occasions at which to “sport” it. That sounds like a win-win to me!

What You’ll Need::

  • Fabric. I suggest something soft, malleable, and flowing. It, of course, doesn’t HAVE to be a patriotic accessory, but if you’re in the Olympic spirit, you’ll go for the red, white, & blue
  • Iron-on hem tape
  • An iron
  • Scissors
  • Measuring Tape

What To Do::

  1. Heat up your iron and then run it over all your fabric.
  2. Start by measuring out long you want you scarf to be, and cut your fabric to that length. I went with a full yard, but you could easily achieve similar results with .75 yds
  3. Measure how wide you want your scarf to be, and cut it to that length. Again, this is up to you, and will be dependent upon the type of fabric you use. Gather it in your hands and see how it feels with different amounts. Mine is about 30 inches wide.
  4. If you choose to add an insert of different fabric, follow steps 1 & 2.
  5. Measure your hem tape to match the width of your fabric.
  6. Follow instructions on the hem tape packaging to adhere your separate fabric ends together.
  7. If you have chosen to add inserts, follow steps 5 & 6 as many times as it takes to create a full loop.

Loop the finished scarf around your neck 1 or 2 times and enjoy your stylish accomplishment!

Et voila! And, I forgot to mention one, little tip: most fabric stores have a clearance section of material that’s in perfect condition, but not long enough to sell by the yard. That discounted fabric is just perfect for  a project like this!