Tags

, , ,

By: Jordan

Tomorrow is February 1st, everyone! I’m just as surprised as you are at how quickly January whizzed by, but we don’t have time to dwell on it. We must move forward and try our best to keep up with the speeding calendar.

Now, I will be the first to admit that I am a sucker for Hallmark holidays. Give me cheesy cards, sweet treats, and a reason to celebrate any day! I think we can all agree that Valentine’s Day is the mack daddy of all such celebrations, so I thought I’d share a few ideas for the upcoming holiday for you and your special someone!

First of all, you simply can’t go wrong with homemade goods. Whether the gift itself or just the card, a present that has been made with your own two hands says a lot. It says that the recipient of the gift is worth more than your money, they’re worth your time and talent. Below is a card I made for Adam last year.  I always have a batch of felt stashed in my craft supplies, so this was actually a very cost effective memento. 

If you’re not the crafty type, no need to fret! There are plenty of ways you can give a creative gift without lifting a single pair of scissors. The best way, in my opinion, is to personalize a pre-made gift. Think about what your special someone loves and then research whether or not you can have it made tailored just for them. Last year, I went with eCreamery, a website specializing in custom-made, home-delivered ice cream! One of Adam’s only sweet indulgences, I knew that this would be a fun gift for me to give and for him to receive. I chose the flavor, mix-ins, and name! And, yes, I am particularly proud of “Blueberry Stud Muffin” since he is, in fact, a total stud.

Finally, giving the one you love an “experience” is always a good idea! You can experience the gift together and create memories in the process! Purchase tickets to a concert, set up cooking classes, or check Groupon for a host of other well-priced experiences that you might not otherwise think of yourself! With Valentine’s Day a mere two weeks away, there’s still time to make your holiday special, but move quickly, time is ticking!