Tags

, , , , , ,

Image Credit: Apartment Therapy

By: Jordan

Happy Friday, folks! It’s a great day and I’d like to keep it that way, thank you very much. Every once in a while, during my morning social network/blog browsing, I’ll check out the trending topics on Twitter. Sometimes they’re funny, sometimes they’re newsworthy, and sometimes, they just disappoint me. Such is the case today. One of the top trending tweets, denoted with a “#” is “ThingsICan’tStand.”

What’s the point? Why spend your time dwelling on the things that drive you crazy and then subject the general public to such complaints? I get that my writing this very post could make it seem like I should be using the same hashtag that I’m criticizing, but I’m actually here to encourage. Social media is a powerful tool. It’s started revolutions, stopped government legislation (as seen just this week with Marco Rubio’s change of heart regarding the PIPA bill), and has the ability to reach millions of people in split seconds. So, let’s use it’s power for good.

If you recall, a few months ago, I challenged every Nourish reader to 30 days of positivity on Facebook. I’m not sure how everyone fared, but I can tell you that I have yet to post one complaint or negative status update since. I can also tell you that it has actually helped my attitude in every day life. Any time I get the urge to write something snarky, I pause and take a moment to evaluate the reason behind my desire to infect others with my so-called problems. It’s not always easy, but it is always productive in shifting my perspective and allowing me to reposition my ‘tude.

Today, I challenge you again. If you made it the 30 days, you’ve probably made it a lot more since. If you didn’t make the 30 days, pick up where you left off and take some time to recognize the power of your words. If that seems like a challenge you don’t think you’re up for, here’s a little help:

  1. Go to Twitter, even if you don’t have an account.

  2. In the search field at the top of the page, type in #positivetweet, #gratefultweet, or #joyfultweet.

  3. Be encouraged by the positivity of others.

  4. Be positive encouragement to others in your life.

Finally, I know that sometimes life is hard. Sometime you do just want to vent about the things you can’t stand. I know this from experience. And I know that sometimes no amount of sweet tweets will get me out of a funk. In those times, the answer is easy. The answer is prayer and prayer does heal. So take your struggles to someone who can truly eradicate them from your life. Facebook can’t do that, but God can. So, let’s do this together and be the change we wish to see, just like Mother Theresa suggested.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” -Philippians 4:6