Tags

, , , , , ,

By: Jordan

I’m going to admit right off the bat that this recipe may not be for everyone.  It has been my experience that avocado is a polarizing fruit (some may argue that it’s a vegetable, further proving my point). You either love it or you hate it.  I definitely find myself in the love camp, hence today’s post.

I woke up this morning craving a smoothie for no particular reason. Unfortunately the contents of my kitchen didn’t lend themselves too well to your typical smoothie, so I decided to get creative. I quickly googled “avocado smoothie” and came across a simple recipe that seemed easy enough to make my own. I chose avocado as my main ingredient initially because it was the only substantial fruit I had in stock, but quickly realized what a good choice it was based on some quick facts found in the article accompanying the sample recipe.

Take, for instance, the fact that the “good” fats found in avocado can help lower cholesterol. They are also rich in magnesium and packed with 11g of fiber per whole fruit! So, besides just tasting great, this smoothie is good for you and ultra filling. Take a look at my version of this avocado smoothie and, if it strikes your fancy, give it a whirl or create your very own!

What  You’ll Need::

  • One ripe avocado

  • 1 cup almond milk (soy or rice would also do the trick)

  • 1/2 cup ice

  • 1 teaspoon honey

  • 1/4 teaspoon coconut oil

  • handful of almonds

  • 1/3 cup orange juice (I added this last minute to give the smoothie a citrus boost, I think pineapple juice would’ve been even better had I had it)

What to Do::

  1. Scoop contents of avocado from skin and place in blender with honey, almonds, coconut oil, and 1/2 cup of milk

  2. Blend until smooth and creamy

  3. Add remaining milk and ice and blend until smooth

  4. Add orange juice and blend, adding more to taste if you’d like

  5. Pour into a glass and enjoy!