Tags

, , ,

By: Jordan

Do you remember when I introduced you all to my new best friend, Gwyneth Paltrow? If you don’t, you can read all about our friendship here, and notice the brief mention I give to her stir-fried chicken recipe. You see, it was by popular demand (well, really just my mom’s birthday dinner request) that I gave the recipe another go. The first time I made it, the meal was great. This second time I made it, the meal was incredibly, fabulously delicious! I can only attribute this difference to the fact that I followed the recipe exactly this time, whereas on the first go round I added lots of vegetable of my own. Either way, I thought I’d share so you can partake in a scrumptious, easy-to-make meal!

What You’ll Need::

  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cut into 3/4″ cubes
  • 2 Tbsp cornstarch
  • Coarse salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup peeled & minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup peeled & minced ginger
  • 1/2 cup minced scallions (white & green parts)
  • Pinch red chile flakes
  • 1/2 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp coarsely cut fresh cilantro, for serving
What to Do::
  1. Toss the chicken with the cornstarch, large pinch of salt, & a good bit of black pepper
  2. Heat the oil in a large wok over medium-high heat
  3. Add garlic, ginger, scallions, chile flakes and cook, stirring 1 minute
  4. Add the chicken and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes
  5. Add the vinegar, sugar, & 5 grinds of black pepper. Boil on high for 3 minutes
  6. Once the mixture is dark brown and sticky, add the soy sauce and cook another 30 seconds
  7. Serve immediately, sprinkled with cilantro
  8. Enjoy!!
I paired this meal with some sticky white rice and a fresh asian inspired salad. Mmm mmm good!