Tags

, ,

By: Jordan

If you know me at all, you know that I love tie dye (as evidenced by this blog post from long, long ago and the entire tie dye ensemble Adam made me for my birthday). You know that bright colors make me giddy and you know that I love being crafty, especially when I can give said crafts away as gifts!

So, when my sweet friend Mandy gave birth to she and her husband Andrew’s first baby girl last week, I went to town on some pink tie dyed onesies. And, let me tell you, they are cuter than a puppy snuggling with a baby that’s sucking its thumb!

For those of you who already know how to tie dye, let this encourage you to try an experiment in miniature tie dye. For those of you who’ve never tried this ancient craft (hey, certain techniques really do go way back), follow the directions below and thank me later for introducing you to your latest hobby!

What You’ll Need::

  • Item(s) to dye. Fabrics made from natural fibers work best, but you can find certain types of dye that will allow you to work with synthetics.
  • 3/4 gallon water
  • Stainless steel stock pot (The dye will seep into a non-stick coating. Believe me, I’ve ended up with purple pasta before)
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • Dye in your color of choice. My favorite brand is iDye as they have lots of choices and amazing options for synthetic fibers.
  • Rubber bands
What to Do::
  1. Add salt to water and bring to a rolling boil.
  2. Add dye to water and stir.
  3. While your dye heats up, prep your fabric by rinsing each item in cold water and wring dry.
  4. Fold, twist, and scrunch your fabric depending on what pattern you’d like.  I made one spiral, striped, and ombre onesie each. For the spiral, you simply twist the fabric from the center. For the striped, you fold the fabric accordian style until you have about a one inch strip. The ombre is a simple dip dye that you slowly remove from the dye as time elapses.
  5. Rubber band it! For the spiral, you place the rubber bands in a way that looks like you’re slicing a pizza or pie, or better yet, a pizza pie. For the striped onesie, you tie the fabric in one inch sections, knowing that you’ll have  a white stripe wherever the rubber band has been placed.
  6. Submerge your fabric into the hot dye. I like to use tongs to avoid splashing. It’s also helpful to press the fabric down to the bottom on the pot and release any trapped air. This way you’ll ensure the fabric is submerged the entire time and not floating on top.
  7. Stir occasionally for 45 min to 1 hour.
  8. Remove fabric from dye and place in a plastic bag. Allow the dye to sit for at least 8 hours.
  9. Remove rubber bands and rinse, then cycle the garments through your washing machine with cold water and gentle detergent.
  10. Marvel with awe at your fancy creation!