Tags

, , , , ,

By: Jordan

When I lived in Southern California a few years ago, my friend Steph and I would visit one of our favorite restaurants on our way to church each Sunday. Tucked away in The Lab, the Gypsy Den offered our favorite cold-morning breakfast, “5 grain hot cereal.” We simply referred to this delish dish as “oats.” Every Sunday, we’d get our oats and coffee then head to church with a nice, full stomach. And each Sunday, without fail, Steph would finish her breakfast by saying, “mmm, now that’s a breakfast that will stick to your ribs!”

Of course, I no longer live in Southern California, and neither does Steph, but I do still enjoy a good bowl of oatmeal! I recently spent a long few weeks working from the OC, and it seems that this area of the country doesn’t understand that summer is supposed to be hot.  So, I thought I’d share a dish I created with the help of Trader  Joe’s and my dear friend Jodie for those cold, misty August mornings.

Now, I’m a big fan of oatmeal, but not just any oatmeal. I like my oats steel cut, packed with all of the B-vitamins, calcium, protein and fiber that keep tummies full throughout the morning! I also love yogurt, and when you combine the two, something magical happens! Check it out:

What You’ll Need::

  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats
  • 3/4 cup cold water
  • 1/4 cup yogurt (my favorite is Brown Cow, Maple!)
  • 2 Tbsp raw almonds, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp raw sunflower seeds
  • 1 tsp ground flax seeds
  • handful of your favorite fruit
What To Do::
  1. cook the oatmeal according to manufacturer’s directions
  2. combine the yogurt, almonds, and seeds in your favorite breakfast bowl
  3. add the oatmeal to yogurt mixture
  4. top with fresh fruit
  5. enjoy!