By Reagan

I was praying recently for a friend of mine.  The prayer request was very specific and honestly had a very specific desired answer and yet I found myself praying in such broad strokes.  It was one of those situations where I found myself thinking, “Surely God will answer this.  I have plenty of faith that this request will be honored in an astounding and inspiring way. Besides, it just takes faith as small as a mustard seed for mountains to move, right?  Well, I surely have that much faith on this particular matter.”  But I felt like the specific answer, the one that was in my heart just seemed too selfish, too perfect, too big of a mountain.  So I was reducing my prayers to a general kind of faith.  The kind that says God can do anything He wants when He wants and honestly kind of lets me off the hook in actually having the kind of faith that rocks the earth.  So I started thinking more about that passage in Matthew where Jesus admonishes His disciples for having too little faith….

“…I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move.  Nothing will be impossible for you.”

~ Matthew 17:20

Oh crap!  Did you see that?  Not “the mountains”, not “some mountain ranges somewhere” but THIS mountain, He says.  Jesus is looking at a specific mountain in the distance and telling His disciples that this one, this specific mountain would change locations if you only had enough faith as a mustard seed.  So I am not just commanded to have enough faith to move a mountain but the specific and particular mountains that pop up in my day-to-day life.  It’s one thing to have the general belief that God can do whatever He wants whenever He so desires.  It’s another matter entirely to have the guts to believe that He can move a specific mountain and maybe in the exact way you desire it to be moved.  I know for sure that I need to work on my belief that my mountains can move, what about you?