Tags

, , , , ,

By: Jordan

Ok, I know what you’re thinking: “Since when does Canada have food good enough to dedicate to a blog post?” Am I right? Chances are I am right, but you (and me, until last week) are wrong. Canada DOES have wonderful food, by golly!

As I mentioned in my last post, I had the chance to pop in with our neighbor up north for a few days last week. The trip was brief, but delicious nonetheless! The first time I was made aware of particular Canadian fare was on a random night last year when Cara’s husband Mike got a craving for poutine. “Poo-what!?” we all said. Poutine, pronounced “poo-teen” is a French Canadian dish originating in Quebec. Comprised of thick-cut French fries, fresh cheese curds, and gravy, I immediately knew this dish was right up my alley when Mike first mentioned it. Come on, if you know me, you know how much I love food…let alone French fries and any variation of cheese.

Of course, when I learned that my travels would be taking me to Toronto, I immediately got my tastebuds ready for this scrumptious treat. And what a treat it was! The students that I visited took me under their wings and brought me to The Whistle Stop, which just so happens to boasts Canada’s largest selection on poutine options. Cha-ching! I asked for suggestions as to which version was a “must” and being told that I could try the original being ordered by one of the students, I ventured out and ordered the cheeseburger poutine. This meant that in addition to my french fries, cheese curds, and gravy, my helping was piled high with ground beef, tomatoes, and onions. Yowza, talk about a meal! It was seriously awesome and my first experience is documented in the first set of photos up top!

Now, after lunch, I HAD to try a butter tart. Again, the name sounds a little suspicious, but the was nothing but mmm mmm good! Considered considered one of Canada’s “quintessential desserts,” I knew I wouldn’t regret biting into the flaky shortbread crust as the gooey butterscotch filling spilled out. My happy face at the beginning of this post is proof enough, eh?

Then, after that mid-afternoon indulgence, came the beer…and I don’t just mean you’re regular Labatt Blue. Being taken to The Olde Stone, a local brew pub, for dinner, I just had to sample some of their homemade finest. The sampler seen in the photo was delightful and I’ll tell you that must simply visit to get the full experience. The atmosphere was lovely and my notes don’t seem to indicate what I actually tried. Oops!

As you might imagine, I indulged big time during my stay, so I thought I’d be responsible and order the “granola & fruit” before I left my hotel. As you can see below, I got more than I bargained for and was totally impressed with the healthy breakfast concoction of granola, yogurt, honey, pineapple, mango, grapes, peaches, and blueberries.

So, the next time someone tries to tell you that Canada’s food is as paltry as England’s, simply point them to Nourish for a little education. Bon Apetit!