Tags

, , ,

By: Jordan

What’s the first thing you think of when you hear the proper noun “Gladstone”? If you’re thinking to yourself, “Hey, that’s easy! Joey Gladstone from Full House, of course!”, then I’m right there with ya. Or, I would have been until this past week. After a quick trip to Toronto for work on Monday, I now think of the most interesting hotel I’ve ever stayed in when I hear the name Gladstone.  (And although I don’t remember if Joey Gladstone is Canadian, I do know that Dave Coulier, the actor who played “Uncle” Joey, IS. Please note that the serendipity is not lost on me.)

Situated on a busy corner in one of Toronto’s hippest neighborhoods, the Gladstone Hotel was named after prominent English politician William Gladstone and is the longest continually operated hotel in the sprawling city. According to its website, “The Gladstone was originally built in 1889 as a stylish hostelry…[and] has a long history of providing respite for artists and performers.” Renovated numerous times from 1913-2005, the Gladstone as it stands now is a motley concoction of art, music, culture and relaxation.

I snapped a few photos during my stay and had a lovely time ambling from floor to floor, exploring the various vintage vignettes housed in the common areas of each level. Each guest rooms’ decor has been commissioned to a different local artist, providing a truly unique experience to each of Gladstone’s visitors.

Adding to the appeal of the hotel’s ambiance are the art galleries found on every floor. That’s right, each level has its own art gallery featuring paintings, sculptures and installations. What a treat ascending the old wooden staircase not knowing what art will be found just one more level up! My favorite piece is shown at the top of this post, but there are more lovelies below.

If your travels ever take you to Toronto, do yourself a favor and book a room at Gladstone Hotel. You’ll not only find a reasonable price, but you’ll be met with a beautifully unique environment, a gracious staff and the chance to ride in the city’s oldest hand-operated Victorian elevator! Get to it, eh!?