Tags

, , ,

By: Jordan

As I look at my calendar for the next few days, I realize there is SO much to celebrate. Two of my best friends are just days away from giving birth, another two friends are marrying each other and Sunday, of course, is Mother’s Day.  Each of these events is an opportunity to take time out of my busy schedule to commemorate and honor someone I love. An opportunity to cherish valued relationships. An opportunity to examine my priorities and dive into that which matters most.

These paramount occasions signify beautiful moments, but what about the perpetual joys in life? What about the everyday occurrences that surround the big moments? Aren’t they just as important?  I believe they are. In fact, I’d argue that they’re actually more significant in living a celebratory life.  Let’s face it, we live in a tumultuous era.  In addition to the current recession and the violence in the Middle East, most Americans are less happy than they used to be, more overweight and almost 40% still smoke. Come on, we’ve got to do better!

Now, I’m an eternal optimist and I know that everyone is not. So, I can understand if what I’m about to share sounds crazy, but it’s worth trying. Here goes: I challenge you to make a conscious effort to take 3 separate moments out of your day to recognize something or someone’s positive impact on your life. It can be seemingly insignificant, but if you’re willing enough, you can find something stunning about practically anything. For instance, I was at a friend’s house last night sitting on the couch with a blanket on my legs. As we were talking I realized that I had been tracing designs in the blanket’s soft fibers for nearly 20 minutes. I was completely enthralled, and it was awesome! Completely insignificant to the overall trajectory of my life, but in those moments, I was able admire the genuine satisfaction I was experiencing.

If you’re interested in life’s little joys, but less excitable than I am, check out this blog: 1,000 Awesome Things. It’s the online companion to Neil Pasricha’s series The Book of Awesome and The Book of (even more) Awesome. There are some perfectly awesome moments listed that we can all relate to. Moments that, when recognized as an opportunity to smile, be grateful or even humbled, can truly turn a monotonous day into a celebration.

I’ll leave you with something that I find to be so super awesome: the promise that God will nourish, clothe and protect us, His children, without fail.

  “Then Jesus said to his disciples: ‘Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat; or about your body, what you will wear. For life is more than food, and the body more than clothes. Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to your life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?

   ‘Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today, and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, how much more will he clothe you—you of little faith! And do not set your heart on what you will eat or drink; do not worry about it. For the pagan world runs after all such things, and your Father knows that you need them. But seek his kingdom, and these things will be given to you as well.

    ‘Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom. Sell your possessions and give to the poor. Provide purses for yourselves that will not wear out, a treasure in heaven that will never fail, where no thief comes near and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.'” -Luke 12:22-34

I encourage you to take comfort in these words, to let go of some of the worry of the world, recognize the awesome little moments of life and lift your arms in celebration like the hippies pictured above! Nourish and be nourished.