Tags

, , , ,

By: Jordan

Believe it or not, I’m not exaggerating when I say I have a dream job. I’ve been working for Hurley for over 4 1/2 years now and I am truly blessed. It may have to do with the fact that our leader Bob Hurley is an exceptional human being. It may have to do with the fact that the company culture is one focused on passion and creativity. It may have to do with the fact that the surf industry is one that values fun in the sun. What it definitely have to do with, no questions asked, are the hundreds of incredibly talented youth I get to work with on a daily basis.

Since January of 2008, I’ve had the opportunity to work full-time on a program called Walk the Walk.  Best described as “Friday Night Football meets The Runway,” Walk the Walk is a high school fashion show competition. Created in an effort to inspire creativity, confidence and self-expression, Hurley provides the necessary tools and the students do the rest, in an effort to be awarded a hefty donation to their school’s art & music programs. And let me tell you, what they come up with is nothing short of brilliant!

Just take a look at the recap of last year’s Walk the Walk performance at the US Open of Surfing in Huntington Beach, CA.

As you can see, these kids have talent oozing from their pores, but beyond that, they’re really good kids. I can’t say enough how awed I am at the dedication and fervor with which these students work. True, they are given an opportunity of a lifetime with Walk the Walk, and they treat it as such. Last summer, I spent my time traveling to the participating schools, watching them rehearse and prepare. Yes, they were working on this during their summer vacation. Incredible!

As this year’s Walk The Walk kicks off, I’m reminded of how blessed I am to get to work so closely with a generation that is so talented and so motivated. They remind me that excellence is achievable and that a little encouragement goes a long way.

Today is the official kick off of Walk the Walk 2011! Eighteen schools are vying for four spots at this year’s Walk the Walk Grand Championship event taking place on August 4 at the US Open of Surfing. They’ve each produced three, 2-minute videos based on challenges given to them by Hurley.

This week, Challenge #1, “Show Your DNA” is live on Hurley.com!  So, take a few moments out of your busy day to be inspired and certainly entertained. And, please, follow the instructions below to show your support for these hard-working students!

Instructions for VOTING::

  1. Visit Hurley.com
  2. Choose the logo of the school whose video you’d like to watch
  3. You will be required to login to Hurley.com to vote. It’s a painless process, so don’t let that hinder you!
  4. Click  VOTE!
  5. Spread the love by sending everyone you know to Hurley.com/wtw!!